2018 Nokia Open Innovation Challenge

$100,000 for SPARK Microsystems and professors Dominic Deslandes and Frederic Nabki

Thursday, December 6, 2018
frederik nabki dominic deslandes ets
Professors Frederik Nabki and Dominic Deslandes

SPARK Microsystems is the winner of the 6th annual Nokia Open Innovation Challenge (NOIC) for its ultra-low power and latency wireless technology for the Internet of Things. The winners were announced on December 6, 2018 at the global headquarters of Nokia Bell Labs in Murray Hill, New Jersey.

SPARK Microsystems is the result of a partnership between ÉTS professors Dominic Deslandes and Frédéric Nabki, who combined their skills in radio-frequency circuits and integrated circuits to revolutionize the world of signal transmission. They are supported by Centech, the technology start-up incubator and accelerator of ÉTS.

The SPARK Radio helps customers achieve much longer battery life as well as instantaneous and high fidelity short-range wireless communications. Its efficiency, agility and robustness allow it to address a large number of markets, many of which are ill-served by current wireless technologies.

Nokia Bell Labs administers the NOIC competition with the goal of connecting the world through innovations that shape the future of human collaboration, communication, connection and control.

In addition to the $100,000, professors Deslandes and Nabki will also be given access to Nokia Bell Labs research and development resources, as well as opportunities to grow their businesses through joint partnerships with Nokia.

The focus of this year's competition was industrial automation and the industrial Internet of Things. SPARK Microsystems impressed the panel of judges and were selected from over 300 start-up companies from around the world. The entrants went through two assessment rounds, with the six finalist companies invited to pitch and demonstrate their ideas to an international selection jury.

Congratulations to professors Dominic Deslandes and Frederic Nabki!

Also :
2018 Nokia Open Innovation Challenge - and the winner is?
SPARK Microsystems

For information:
Sébastien Langevin
Communication Officer - ÉTS
514 396-8664

All the news