Bora Ung
Professor
Bora Ung
phi-lab_logo.png                        ETS_hologram.png
At the PHotonic Innovations lab (phi_lab) in ETS we develop novel photonic devices and optical methods aimed at addressing a variety of applications. Here are our main research directions:

A) Design of specialty optical fibers
 
We design specialty fibers using numerical tools and ensure their fabrication through external collaborators. These specialty fibers are investigated in key application areas such as: next-generation telecommunications, supercontinuum generation and fiber-optic sensors.

B) Space-division multiplexing for next-generation optical communications
MCF_ROADM.png
Spatial multiplexing is an approach that promises to enhance the capacity of optical communication links by increasing the number of transmission channels within a single strand of fiber. Custom-made specialty optical fibers (few-mode and multicore) are employed in investigations that benefit from the collaboration of researchers at Laval University (see Partners)

C) Cylindrical vector beams and beams with orbital angular momentum
TM01_beam.png  SpiralFringePattern_L4.png
Annular optical beams such as the cylindrical vector beams (with inhomogeneous polarization) and beams with orbital angular momentum (aka "optical vortices") are investigated towards the development of novel optical sensors, imaging devices and for pushing new frontiers in light-matter interactions.

D) Fiber-optic sensors
Plasmonic-fiber-optic-sensor.png  BrillouinSpectrumIPGIF-(1).png
The small size, low power, fast response and high sensitivity of optical fibers make them ideal tool for the development of sensors for temperature, pressure, strain, humidity, etc. We have among others developed plasmonic fiber-optic humidity sensors and are working on advanced distributed fiber-optic sensors using few-mode fibers.

E) Biophotonics and biomedical devices
InstrumentedSpinalCord.png
In collaboration with the team of Prof. Éric Wagnac, we utilize optical fibers and polymer optical waveguides in various biomedical applications such as: the biomechanical study of spinal cord injuries, and in dentistry. The compact size of optical sensors as well as their high sensitivity allows their efficient integration in clothing, orthotics, prosthetics and many other smart biomedical devices.


Contact info

Office: A-2481
Phone: 514 396-8529


bora.ung@etsmtl.ca

News

Openings available
for MSc and PhD candidates in electrical engineering

Bora Ung
Bora Ung
B.Ing., M.Sc. (Laval), Ph.D. (École Polytechnique)
Professeur
Département de génie électrique

phi-lab_logo.png                        ETS_hologram.png
Au laboratoire de PHotonique Innovante (phi_lab) à l'ÉTS nous développons des dispositifs photoniques et de nouvelles méthodes en optique-photonique visant diverses applications. Voici nos axes de recherche actuels :

A) Design de fibres optiques spéciales
 
Nous concevons des fibres optiques uniques à l'aide d'outils de simulation numérique et assurons leur fabrication auprès de collaborateurs externes. Ces fibres sont étudiées dans différentes applications: télécommunications de prochaine génération, génération de supercontinuum, et capteurs à fibre optique.

B) Multiplexage spatial pour communications optiques de prochaine génération
MCF_ROADM.png
Le multiplexage spatial est une approche qui promet d'accroître la capacité des liens de communication optique en augmentant le nombre de canaux de transmission au sein d'une seule fibre optique. Des fibres optiques spéciales (multimodes ou multicoeurs) sont employées dans ces recherches en collaboration avec des chercheurs de l'Université Laval (voir Partenaires).

C) Faisceaux optiques vectoriels ou avec moment angulaire orbital
TM01_beam.png  SpiralFringePattern_L4.png
Les faisceaux annulaires vectoriels (polarisation inhomogène) et les faisceaux annulaires avec moment angulaire orbital (aussi dénommés "vortex optiques") sont étudiés en vu de développer de nouveaux capteurs/imageurs optiques, d'améliorer les processus d'usinage laser, et d'explorer les interactions lumière-matière sous un nouvel angle.

D) Capteurs à fibre optique
Plasmonic-fiber-optic-sensor.png  BrillouinSpectrumIPGIF-(1).png
La petite taille, faible puissance guidée, réponse rapide et haute sensibilité des fibres optiques en font un outil exceptionnel pour le développement de capteurs en tout genre: température, pression, contrainte, humidité, etc. Nous avons entre autres développé des capteurs plasmoniques sensibles à la température et à l'humidité, et travaillons à la mise au point de capteurs distribués sur fibre multimode.

E) Biophotonique et dispositifs biomédicaux
InstrumentedSpinalCord.png
En collaboration avec l'équipe du Prof. Éric Wagnac, nous employons des fibres optiques et des guides d'ondes polymériques dans des applications biomédicales telles: l'étude biomécanique des blessures à la colonne vertébrale et en dentisterie. La petite taille des capteurs optiques ainsi que leur grande sensibilité font en sorte qu'il est possible de les intégrer efficacement dans les vêtements, orthèses, prothèses et plusieurs autres dispositifs biomédicaux intelligents.


Me joindre

Bureau : A-2481
Téléphone : 514 396-8529


bora.ung@etsmtl.ca

Nouvelles

Postes disponibles
à la maitrise et au doctorat en génie électrique