Parallel robotics

In addition to the ubiquitous serial industrial robots, other types of manipulators are also available, called parallel robots. A serial robot is basically a series of links connected by motorized joints, while a parallel robot is comprised of several series of links, with most of their joints not motorized.

Parallel robots can be faster, more rigid and/or accurate than serial robots. Like almost all motion simulators, most rapid pick-and-place robots are parallel robots. Many precise positioning devices are also parallel robots.

Through his website ParalleMIC and his research on the kinematic analysis and design of parallel mechanisms, Professor Ilian Bonev is renowned in the area of parallel robotics. He leads most of the R&D work involving parallel robots conducted at the CoRo laboratory, where the work breaks down into three categories: theoretical work, mechanical design and simulation software development.

Theoretical work

The following are the main theoretical areas Professor Bonev is interested in:
  • study of the singularities and workspace of parallel robots;
  • geometric design of new parallel mechanisms with large workspace and few singularities.

This type of research is particularly well suited for students interested in geometry, and projects can be purely theoretical or combined with a practical component (experiments on an existing prototype or development of a new one).

The following articles clearly illustrate the bases of theoretical projects:
  • Rakotomanga, N., et Bonev, I.A., “A 3-RPR parallel mechanism with singularities that are self-motions”, Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics, Vol. 2, No. 3, 2010. 
  • Bonev, I.A., Yu, A., et Zsombor-Murray, P., “XY-Theta positioning table with parallel kinematics and unlimited theta rotation”, IEEE International Symposium on Industrial Electronics, Montréal, Qc, Canada, 9-13 juillet 2006. 

Mechanical design

At the practical level, Professor Bonev is mainly interested in the mechanical design of new parallel robots with large workspace and high absolute accuracy (see Precision Robotics section) or for very specific applications. In both cases, industrial grade prototypes are designed and produced at the ÉTS. The controllers for these prototypes are generally developed by Professor Pascal Bigras (see Control section).

The robots are designed using CATIA, SolidWorks and ADAMS software. Parts are machined at the Laboratoire institutionnel de fabrication de l’ÉTS (ÉTS’ Institutional Manufacture Laboratory) which houses 21 machines, including seven NC machining centres. Following proper training, CoRo members are able to use most of these machine-tools independently.

The first prototype developed at the CoRo laboratory is an XY-Theta precision positioning table, called PreXYT (for Precision XY-Theta table). This is a new singularity-free three-degrees-of-freedom parallel robot with very simple kinematics. The robot was designed for the precision positioning of silicon wafers, and its effector can cover a circular zone 170 mm in diameter, with any orientation between -17° and 17°, and an absolute positioning error under 0.050 mm.

The following documents describe the robot in detail:
  • Bonev, I.A., “Planar parallel mechanism and method”, American Patent No. 7 707 907, filed on November 17, 2006; delivered on May 4, 2010. 
  • Yu, A., Bonev, I.A. and Zsombor-Murray, P., “New XY-Theta positioning table with partially decoupled parallel kinematics”, IEEE International Symposium on Industrial Electronics, Montréal, QC, Canada, July 9-13, 2006. 
  • Joubair, A., Slamani, M. and Bonev, I.A., “A novel XY-Theta precision table and a geometric procedure for its kinematic calibration”, Robotics and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing, 2011. 


PreXYT, XY-Theta parallel robot (video)


DexTAR, XYZ parallel robot (video)

The second prototype, called DexTAR (for Dextrous Twin-Arm Robot), is a rapid pick-and-place XYZ robot, based on a 5-bar mechanism. Its originality lies in the fact that the robot can reconfigure itself dynamically to maximize its workspace (by crossing serial singularities).

The following article describes the robot in detail:
  • Campos, L., Bourbonnais, F., Bonev, I.A. and Bigras, P., “Development of a five-bar parallel robot with large workspace”, ASME 2010 International Design Engineering Technical Conferences, Montréal, QC, Canada, August 15-18, 2010. 

MedRUE
MedRUE, six-degrees-of-freedom parallel robot (video)

The third prototype is a six-degrees-of-freedom robot called MedRUE (for Medical Robot for vascular Ultrasound Examination), which is used to analyze the arteries of the lower limbs. The robot will perform diagnoses of the stenosis using an ultrasound probe. This project, which is currently under development, is being carried out in collaboration with the Hôpital Notre-Dame, a part of the Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM) network.

The follow documents describe the robot in detail:
  • Lessard, S., Bonev, I.A., Bigras, P., “Parallel manipulator”, American Patent No. 7 673 537, filed on June 2, 2008, Delivered on March 9, 2010.
  • Yen, A.K.W., Asservissement en position d'un manipulateur robotique pour l'échographie 3D des artères des membres inférieurs (Servo position control of robotic manipulator for 3-D echography of lower limb arteries), Master's thesis, École de technologie supérieure, 2011.

The fourth prototype is a cable-actuated robot, which is driven by eight motors. This project is currently under development.

The fifth prototype is a rotary hexapod called MicARH (for Micropositioning Agile Rotary Hexapod). This project is currently under development.

MicARH
MicARH, rotary hexapod for micropositioning (video)

 
Development of simulation software

Professor Bonev is also interested in the design of simulation software for parallel robots. He has designed a series of  Java applets, and will be designing a software application for the simulation of Delta robots. This type of work is intended primarily for students registered in the Projet de fin d’études course, foreign interns, or anyone wishing to work on an as-needed contract basis. Candidates must be highly skilled in C++ and well versed in the OpenGL library and the Qt GUI toolkit.

Robotique parallèle


Outre les bras manipulateurs, ces robots industriels omniprésents de type sériel, il existe un autre type de manipulateurs, appelés les robots parallèles. Un robot sériel est essentiellement une série de segments reliés par des articulations motorisées alors que dans un robot parallèle, il y a plusieurs séries de segments et la plupart des articulations ne sont pas motorisées.

Les robots parallèles peuvent être plus rapides, plus rigides, et/ou plus précis que les robots sériels. Une grande partie des robots de transfert rapide sont des robots parallèles ainsi que la quasi-totalité des simulateurs de mouvement. Plusieurs des dispositifs de positionnement précis sont également des robots parallèles.

Le Pr. Ilian Bonev est bien connu dans le domaine de la robotique parallèle par le biais de son site Web ParalleMIC et de ses travaux de recherche sur l’analyse cinématique et la conception de mécanismes parallèles. Au laboratoire CoRo, il mène la majorité des activités de R-D impliquant des robots parallèles, lesquelles se divisent en trois catégories : travaux théoriques, conception mécanique et développement de logiciels de simulation.


Travaux théoriques

Les aspects théoriques qui intéressent le professeur Bonev sont principalement :
  • l’étude des singularités et de l’espace de travail des robots parallèles ;
  • la conception géométrique de nouveaux mécanismes parallèles avec grand espace de travail et peu de singularités.

Ce type de travail de recherche est particulièrement approprié pour les étudiants intéressés par la géométrie. Les projets peuvent être purement théoriques ou combinés avec une partie pratique (expérimentation sur un prototype existant ou réalisation d’un nouveau prototype).

Articles illustrant bien les projets théoriques :
  • Rakotomanga, N., et Bonev, I.A., “A 3-RPR parallel mechanism with singularities that are self-motions”, Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics, Vol. 2, No. 3, 2010. 
  • Bonev, I.A., Yu, A., et Zsombor-Murray, P., “XY-Theta positioning table with parallel kinematics and unlimited theta rotation”, IEEE International Symposium on Industrial Electronics, Montréal, Qc, Canada, 9-13 juillet 2006. 


Conception mécanique

Au niveau pratique, le Pr Bonev s’intéresse surtout au design mécanique de nouveaux robots parallèles avec grand espace de travail et bonne précision absolue (voir section Robotique de précision) ou pour des applications très spécifiques. Dans les deux cas, des prototypes de qualité industrielle sont conçus et fabriqués à l’ÉTS. Les contrôleurs de ces prototypes sont généralement développés par le Pr Pascal Bigras (voir section Commande).

Les robots sont conçus avec les logiciels CATIA, SolidWorks et ADAMS. Les pièces sont usinées au Laboratoire institutionnel de fabrication de l’ÉTS qui regroupe 21 machines dont sept centres d’usinage à commandes numériques. À la suite d’une formation adéquate, les membres du CoRo sont en mesure d’utiliser eux-mêmes la plupart des machines-outils.

Le premier prototype développé au laboratoire CoRo est une table de positionnement précis XY-Thêta, nommé PreXYT (pour Precision XY-Theta table). Il s’agit d’un nouveau robot parallèle plan à trois degrés de liberté, sans singularité et avec une cinématique très simple. Le robot a été conçu pour le positionnement précis des plaques de silicium. L’effecteur du robot peut parcourir une zone circulaire du diamètre 170 mm, avec n’importe quelle orientation entre -17° et 17°, et avec une erreur de positionnement absolu inférieure à 0,050 mm.

Documents décrivant le robot en détail :
  • Bonev, I.A., “Planar parallel mechanism and method”, brevet américain No. 7 707 907, déposé le 17 novembre 2006, délivré le 4 mai 2010. 
  • Yu, A., Bonev, I.A., et Zsombor-Murray, P., “New XY-Theta positioning table with partially decoupled parallel kinematics”, IEEE International Symposium on Industrial Electronics, Montréal, QC, Canada, 9–13 juillet 2006. 
  • Joubair, A., Slamani, M., et Bonev, I.A., “A novel XY-Theta precision table and a geometric procedure for its kinematic calibration”, Robotics and Computer-Integrated Manufacturing, 2011. 


PreXYT, robot parallèle XY-Thêta (vidéo)


DexTAR, robot parallèle XYZ (vidéo)

Le deuxième prototype, appelé DexTAR (pour Dextrous Twin-Arm Robot), est un robot XYZ de transfert rapide, basé sur un mécanisme à cinq barres. L’originalité du prototype provient du fait que le robot peut se reconfigurer dynamiquement pour maximiser son espace de travail (en passant par des singularités sérielles).

Article décrivant le robot en détail : 
  • Campos, L., Bourbonnais, F., Bonev, I.A., et Bigras, P., “Development of a five-bar parallel robot with large workspace”, ASME 2010 International Design Engineering Technical Conferences, Montréal, QC, Canada, 15-18 août 2010.  

MedRUE
MedRUE, robot parallèle à six degrés de liberté (vidéo)

Le troisième prototype est un robot médical à six degrés de liberté pour l’examen des artères des membres inférieurs, nommé MedRUE (pour Medical Robot for vascular Ulstrasound Examination). À l’aide d’une sonde échographique, le robot effectuera le diagnostic des sténoses. Ce projet, actuellement en développement, est réalisé en collaboration avec le Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CHUM) de l’Hôpital Notre-Dame.

Documents décrivant le robot en détail :
  • Lessard, S., Bonev, I.A., Bigras, P., “Parallel manipulator”, brevet américain No. 7 673 537, déposé le 2 juin 2008, délivré le 9 mars 2010. 
  • Yen, A.K.W., Asservissement en position d'un manipulateur robotique pour l'échographie 3D des artères des membres inférieurs, Mémoire de maîtrise, École de technologie supérieure, 2011. 

Le quatrième prototype que le CoRo a fabriqué est un robot à câbles, actionné par huit moteurs. Ce projet est actuellement en développement.
 
Le cinquième prototype que le CoRo a fabriqué est un hexapode rotatif, nommé MicARH (Micropositioning Agile Rotary Hexapod). Ce projet est actuellement en développement.

MicARH
MicARH, hexapode rotatif pour le micro-positionnement (vidéo)

 
Développement de logiciels de simulation

Le Pr Bonev s’intéresse également à la conception de logiciels pour la simulation de robots parallèles. Il a conçu une série d’applets Java et est à concevoir un logiciel pour la simulation de robots Delta. Ce type de travail s’adresse principalement aux étudiants inscrits au cours Projet de fin d’études, aux stagiaires étrangers où à toute personne désirant travailler sur un contrat ponctuel. Les candidats doivent posséder de bonnes connaissances en programmation orientée objet (surtout C++) et de la librairie OpenGL.