Precision robotics

Most users of robot manipulators in an industrial setting are content with the excellent repeatability of their movements. Today, an industrial robot’s effector can reach a previously taught pose (position and orientation) with a position error below 0.1 mm. However, in some applications, the poses to be attained are computed rather than taught, in which case absolute accuracy is also required.

The most cost-effective way of improving the absolute accuracy of robots is through calibration. While various commercial solutions are indeed available for calibrating robots using metrology devices, the fact is that even the least expensive of them still cost several thousand dollars. Furthermore, for various reasons, these solutions do not meet the needs of all users (lack of space in a robotic cell, lack of budget to buy a three-dimensional measurement device, etc.).

While the aerospace sector is probably the most demanding in terms of precision robotics, it is paradoxically also the least well served. This sector has a particularly pronounced and active presence in the Montreal region, where several international companies, including Pratt & Whitney, GE Aviation, Messier-Dowty, L-3 MAS and Bombardier Aerospace, use industrial robots for precision tasks.
 
Development of robot calibration methods

The CoRo laboratory is equipped with a wide range of metrology devices:
  • three-dimensional measuring machine (Mitutoyo)
  • laser interferometer system (Renishaw)
  • laser tracker (Faro)
  • measuring arm (Faro)
  • ballbar (Renishaw)
  • probe (Renishaw)
     
The laboratory is also equipped with two serial as well as several parallel robots. Robot calibration projects consist essentially in using measurement devices and mechanical artefacts to optimize the absolute accuracy of a robot.  This type of research work requires a very strong mathematical background, and knowledge of robot kinematics and optimization methods.

The first method developed at the CoRo laboratory is based on the use of a laser tracker to calibrate a classical six-degrees-of-freedom serial robot. Experimental work was carried out on an ABB IRB 1600 robot, and its maximum positioning error in its entire workspace was reduced to below 0.850 mm. Measurements were conducted automatically by controlling the laser tracker and the robot through a local Ethernet network, from Matlab.


Calibration of a serial robot with a laser tracker (vidéo)

A second method has been developed to calibrate one of the parallel robots designed at the laboratory, PreXYT, using a measuring arm (or any 3D coordinate measuring machine). This robot’s maximum positioning error has been reduced to below 0.050 mm.


Calibration of a parallel robot with a measurement arm (video)

Other calibration approaches have also been explored, including the calibration of serial robots using a probe, and the calibration of a Moog hexapod using a laser tracker.

The CoRo laboratory is currently exploring the use of C-Track, a dual-camera measurement device by the Quebec manufacturer, Creaform. This optical device allows the real-time measurement of the robot's effector pose, and can thus possibly be used not only to calibrate robots, but also to guide them dynamically.
 

Design of parallel robots for precision positioning

R&D activities pertaining to the design of parallel robots for precision positioning are described in the Parallel robotics section.

Robotique de précision


Dans l’industrie, la plupart des utilisateurs de robots manipulateurs se contentent de l’excellente répétabilité de leurs mouvements. Aujourd’hui, l’effecteur d’un robot industriel peut se rendre à une pose (position et orientation) déjà enseignée avec une erreur de position inférieure à 0,1 mm. Cependant, il y a des applications où les poses à atteindre sont calculées plutôt qu’enseignées, ce qui veut dire qu’une bonne précision absolue est également exigée.

La façon la moins coûteuse pour améliorer la précision absolue des robots est l’étalonnage. S’il existe différentes solutions commerciales pour l’étalonnage de robots basées sur l’utilisation d’appareils de métrologie, les moins dispendieuses coûtent néanmoins plusieurs dizaines de milliers de dollars. De plus, ces solutions ne satisfont pas les besoins de l’ensemble des utilisateurs pour diverses raisons (cellule robotique exigüe, absence de budget pour acheter un appareil de mesure tridimensionnelle, etc.).

Le secteur de l’aérospatiale est probablement le plus exigeant en termes de robotique de précision et paradoxalement, le moins bien servi. Ce secteur est particulièrement présent et actif dans la grande région de Montréal où plusieurs entreprises internationales utilisent des robots industriels pour des tâches de précision, dont Pratt & Whitney, GE Aviation, Messier-Dowty, L-3 MAS et Bombardier Aéronautique.
 
Développement de méthodes d’étalonnage de robots

Les membres du laboratoire CoRo ont accès à une large gamme d’appareils de métrologie, dont :
  • une machine de mesure tridimensionnelle (Mitutoyo) ;
  • un interféromètre laser (Renishaw) ;
  • un laser de poursuite (Faro) ;
  • un bras de mesure (Faro) ;
  • une barre à bille (Renishaw) ;
  • un palpeur (Renishaw).
     
Le laboratoire est également équipé de deux robots sériels (ABB) et de plusieurs robots parallèles. Les projets d’étalonnage de robots consistent essentiellement en l’utilisation d’un appareil de métrologie et d’artefacts mécaniques pour augmenter la précision absolue d’un robot. Ce type de travail de recherche exige une excellente base en mathématiques et fait appel à la programmation d’algorithmes d’optimisation.

La première méthode développée au laboratoire CoRo est basée sur l’utilisation d’un laser de poursuite pour l’étalonnage d’un robot sériel classique à six degrés de liberté. Le travail expérimental a été effectué sur un robot IRB 1600 de la compagnie ABB et son erreur maximale en positionnement dans tout son volume de travail a été réduite en deçà de 1 mm. La prise de mesures dans différentes configurations du robot s’effectue de façon automatique, en contrôlant le laser de poursuite Faro et le robot ABB à partir de Matlab, via un réseau local Ethernet.


Étalonnage d’un robot sériel avec un laser de poursuite (vidéo)

Une seconde méthode a été développée pour l’étalonnage d’un des robots parallèles conçus au laboratoire, PreXYT, à l’aide d’un bras de mesure (ou d’une machine de mesure tridimensionnelle). L’erreur maximale en positionnement de ce robot a été réduite en deçà de 0,050 mm.


Étalonnage d’un robot parallèle avec un bras de mesure (vidéo)

D’autres approches d’étalonnage ont été également explorées, telles que l’étalonnage de robots sériels à l’aide d’un palpeur et l’étalonnage d’un hexapode de la compagnie Moog à l’aide d’un laser de poursuite.

Actuellement, le laboratoire CoRo explore l’utilisation de l’appareil de mesure à double caméra, C-Track, du fabricant québécois Creaform. Cet appareil optique permet la mesure en temps réel de la pose de l’effecteur du robot. Il est alors possible de l’utiliser non seulement pour l’étalonnage de robots, mais aussi pour leur guidage dynamique.
 
Conception de robots parallèles pour le positionnement précis
Les activités de R-D sur la conception de robots parallèles pour le positionnement précis sont décrites dans la section Robotique parallèle.